Christmas Services & Sunday Preview

December 24, 2009

Merry Christmas to you. Kristina has been preparing Christmas for our family while I have been preparing messages for Christmas Eve and our services this Sunday. My topic for the 4:30 and 6:00 PM Christmas Eve services is “Surprised by a Blessing,” from Matthew 1:18-25. My parents made Christmas a big deal when I was a child. I have always loved the surprises of presents and the carols, food, decorations and traditions that make Christmas special. The birth of Jesus was full of surprises for Mary and Joseph. There was nothing traditional about it. Their lives were turned upside down by the way God worked it all out. I’m hoping that we will understand the radical ways that God can work as we celebrate the presence of Christ in our midst.

My message for Sunday is called “Humility that Brings Transformation” from I Peter 5:5-7. Grace is life-transforming power that God gives us in Christ. Grace is what saves us, strengthens us and brings us gifts that make us effective in ministry. Humility is the key to receiving this transforming grace. It may not seem humble for me to say this, but these truths could change your life for better, forever. Let me suggest that you meditate a while on these verses, so that you will have ears to hear what the Spirit is saying to the church.

May the desires of your heart come to pass this Christmas and throughout the New Year.

Leave a Reply

