Sunday Preview ~ September 3, 2010

September 3, 2010

I was very encouraged by the first day of our fasting and prayer on Wednesday. I want to thank those of you who prayed for me because I felt my soul lifted by grace from the Holy Spirit. When I’m eating regularly, I hate to miss a meal. Yet, when I fast and experience breakthroughs in the Spirit, I wonder why I waited so long to seek the Lord with this intensity. We are encouraging everyone at Living Streams to pick at least one day to fast or choose a type of fast during September to prepare yourself for ministry and missions.

My sermon this Sunday is called “The Heart of a Man of God.” I Samuel 16:7 says, “The LORD does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.”  Men are impressed by beauty, height, and strength, money, houses, and cars. Yet none of those things impress the Lord. He looks at our hearts, because healthy hearts enable us to experience the blessings of God and share those blessings with others. If we have faith and love in our hearts, then we can bring grace and peace to others. Jesus said, “Those whom the Son sets free are free indeed.” However, to the degree that we have selfishness, greed and lust in our hearts, then no matter how much we possess, it diminishes our satisfaction; and our ability to bless others is hindered. When the Lord reveals the sin we all have in our hearts, he does so to lead us to repentance so that we can be cleansed and blessed.

My message will focus on the examples of David and his mighty men in 1 Chronicles 11:15-41. The battles they fought against their enemies contain spiritual insights which can give us wisdom for the spiritual battles we fight. Through the grace of God we can overcome every giant we face, because we are more than conquerors through him who loves us.

Leave a Reply

