Sunday Preview

September 9, 2010

My dad died in the summer of 2003, but I still hear the Lord speaking to me through him from time to time. While I slept one night this week I heard his voice say, “Put some syrup in your mush.” I knew just what he meant. I stopped by my dad’s condo in Novato early one morning to have breakfast with him a couple of years before he died. He put old fashioned oatmeal on the stove and began to cook it for our breakfast. When it was ready, he asked me, “Do you want some syrup in your mush?” I’m used to putting bananas or berries on oatmeal, but that morning I tried it with maple syrup. The message I was getting in my dream this week was to sweeten up my sermons.

My sermon this Sunday is called “Prepare Yourself for Ministry” from I Chronicles 12. This chapter tells about men who put their lives on the line to fight for the nation of Israel under the leadership of King David. They won life-and-death battles against overwhelming odds, because they were brave, faithful men who had prepared themselves to fight and win.

Jesus prepared himself for ministry with fasting and prayer. He quoted Old Testament Scriptures to rebuke the devil in a life-and-death struggle with the prince of darkness. I’m teaching from the Old Testament again this Sunday, because I believe it can give us insights that will help prepare us to overcome the enemy of our souls and win victories in the Spirit. I would appreciate your prayers for God’s presence to be manifest in our services this weekend. There is nothing sweeter or more fulfilling in life than an encounter with the Living God. He provides the syrup that makes the gospel come alive with grace and truth.

Leave a Reply

