Sunday Preview

October 21, 2010

I hope you are doing well. My heart is always encouraged by rain in the desert. I have learned not to expect too much when the weatherman says there is a chance of rain coming, because it usually passes us by. Yesterday Kristina asked me, “Do you think it’s going to rain tonight?” As a realist pessimist I replied, “I don’t think so.” Yet my windshield wipers were going strong as the unexpected rain washed over my car on the way to our office this morning. Rain is a refreshing sign to me that the Lord is the one who meets our deepest needs. I hope that you too will be surprised by unexpected blessings this week as the Lord meets your deepest needs.

My sermon this Sunday is called, “The Gift of God” from II Timothy 1. It is joy to receive gifts, whether it is Christmas, our birthdays or just an expression of a friend’s love. Whether we receive money or clothes or toys, the value of most gifts diminishes over time. We spend the money, wear out the clothes, and the toys break and need to be replaced. The gift of God is something that does not diminish over time. God gives each of us a gift that is exactly what we need. The gift has a great value because it allows us to be a blessing to others. The more we use the gift of God, the more the full value of the gift is revealed.

I’m looking forward to exploring the value of the precious gift of God. I hope you will take some time to read II Timothy 1. Please pray that I will have the grace to make this truth come alive so we can realize the awesome gift that God has given to each of us.

Leave a Reply

