Day before surgery!

November 23, 2010

Mark’s surgeon told us he is keeping Mark in the hospital for 5-7 days after the surgery. This is because of the single by-pass he will also be doing. They will start prepping him at 6:45am for it. They told me I can see him briefly 30 minutes after the 3-4 hour surgery. Mark will not be expected to come out of anesthesia until 4pm.  

Mark told the doctors to do whatever they want when they “get in there.” He added that if they see anything else that needs to be fixed, just get it done. He really likes his surgeon.

A fellow from X-ray just came to get him. It is a day of getting ready for tomorrow and visiting with his mom, cousin, daughters and granddaughter. We have had some friends offer to come by but he is really can’t visit with friends right now. His goal is to rest as his body will really be traumatized tomorrow.

He is so glad for everyone who is praying for him and those who have offered to fast on the day of surgery.

We have had many bumps in our life. Some of them seemed like mountains at the time. We know we will get over this one too. God has been so faithful and good to us.

Personally, I am doing well. I have had so many friends offer to help and I don’t really have anything for them to do yet. I appreciate offers for meals but I enjoy cooking for him. I will need help getting supplies from Trader Jo’s or making a Costco run. So I’ve asked friends who live nearby to give me a call while they are at the store, and if I need something I will ask. I hired a great gardener to do our lawn and someone to help with the house. I think we are in good shape right now. Thank you for asking about me.

Once again, if you leave questions or comments, they will be answered in the next posting.

4 Responses to “Day before surgery!”

  1. Jim McEown Says:

    Praying for you and knowing that you’re in the hands of the Ultimate Surgeon.


  2. We are praying for Mark and for wisdom for the surgeon(s).

    Kristina, Lisa and I are always going to Costco for the business, so if you need supplies, please call or e-mail us. We would be happy to help.

  3. Debbie Becker Says:

    Bummer that we (the staff) didn’t get to visit with you today. Dan, Bev, Ann and I were all in Skip’s truck on our way to the hospital when Lance called and told us they were taking Mark for tests. So we turned around and drove through McDonald’s and got ice cream. Wise choice, huh?

    Praying so earnestly for you both. This is huge, but I believe God is going to bring you (Mark) through this and add many, many productive years to your life.

    I love you both.
    -Debbie

  4. Lisa Riccio Says:

    Daniel and I are praying for the surgery and a steady recovery. I go to Trader Joe’s at least once a week, and would love to pick up things for you guys as we are there. I will text page you before we make the trips. Bless you,
    Lisa


Leave a Reply

