An Update from Mark!

January 13, 2011

I wanted to give you a quick update on my condition and plans. By the grace of God and thanks to the prayers of many of you, I continue to heal every day. I have needed to delay my return to Living Streams this month because I literally get so excited being around a large group of people I love, that my newly repaired heart starts racing beyond what is healthy for me at this time.

On Monday I received the go-ahead from my cardiologist to start driving for the first time since early November. It has been very different for me to be a stay-at-home guy for the last two months. In many ways it has been good for my soul and our marriage for me to slow down and spend more time reading and washing dishes.

I plan to return to Living Streams the first weekend of February to lead communion and then I’ll begin preaching again the following weekend. I really have appreciated our elders giving me permission and encouragement to stay home so I can heal from the inside out. I’ve heard many good reports about what has been happening at Living Streams over the past couple of months. There is no more encouraging report that a pastor can hear than that the church is growing and prospering when he is absent. This is a tribute to the gifted men and women on our staff, as well as the maturity of our church.

I have really benefited from many messages of encouragement, as well as the prayer support that has given me grace since my weeks in the hospital. I want to thank you all for your love. There is nothing better in life than to be a part of a spiritual family that loves one another.

I’m looking forward to seeing you all in February so we can continue to fulfill the ministry God has given us.

May the Lord bless you richly with grace and peace,

Mark

4 Responses to “An Update from Mark!”

  1. Marian Hamilton Says:

    PRAISE GOD FROM WHOM ALL BLESSINGS FLOW! wonderful report, Mark – keep being obedient to everything the docs tell you. I know you will…. I continue to pray for your renewed health & STRENGTH daily.

  2. Linda Lehmann Says:

    Mark, I am so thrilled to read this update…It made me smile that being with alot of people made you so happy that your heart went too fast!!!! You are a true lover of people…from the depths of your heart!!!!hehe
    Danny and I continue to pray for you and wish we were closer so we could help in some way…I trust that our prayers have added to the others and given you strength…
    I will be praying for February…
    We love you guys!
    Linda Lehman

  3. joe garcia Says:

    The secret of a good sermon is to have a good beginning and a good ending; and to have the two as close together as possible

    – George Burns


Leave a Reply

