Sunday Preview

March 21, 2013

Last week, as I prayed in preparation for my message on forgiveness, I felt like the Lord told me he was going to do a deep work in some people’s lives.

I asked Shelly Shaffer if I could interview her in our Sunday services before I preached. So Shelly shared with the congregation her story of moving to America from Cuba as a young atheist. She came to know Christ and then married a man who loved the Lord. One evening her husband did not return from work. She called the sheriff’s office to report him missing and they suggested he was out having an affair with another woman. The next day, in desperation, Shelly had a friend fly his private plane along the path her husband had been driving as he went to inspect farm fields for the Del Monte Corporation. From the plane, they spotted his car. Then a ground search led to a shallow grave, where his bullet riddled body had been buried.

Shelly told us about her struggle to forgive the young men who had murdered her husband and took a loving father away from her children. In the past eight years, the Lord has opened doors for her to speak to judges, prosecutors and others about victims’ rights, as well as the need to forgive in order for our souls to heal.

As Shelly told her story in our 11:00 am service, I could feel the Spirit of God breaking chains in the souls of people who were listening. When she finished, I stood there not knowing what to do next. I had been prepared to preach, yet I felt the power of God had been released. I decided to do another impromptu interview, and then we proceeded with the rest of the service.

I’m telling this story because we have a lot of people praying for spiritual breakthroughs in our services, and I think we are experiencing some of the grace we have been seeking. As we prepare for our Palm Sunday and Easter services, let’s all pray together for the glory of God to be manifested in the church. As we join our hearts and lives in service to Christ, we are seeking the fulfillment of the Lord’s prayer, “Thy Kingdom come and thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.”

Leave a Reply

