A Message from David Stockton

July 11, 2013

Over the history of the world, there have been many times when the people of God have had to stand hard against the flow of the social gravity around them. Noah stuck to his guns about climate change. Moses stood up for the immigrants of his day. Jonathan and David fought against the violent dictators in the Middle East. And Jesus the Christ spoke out against the religious right and provided many services for the poor and disenfranchised. Jesus did what He did out of love, but it was so offensive to the social norms of His day that He was crucified as a despicable criminal. Since we call ourselves followers of Christ we will often find ourselves standing up for and speaking about what is socially offensive in our day.

The message I am working on this week has come out of my conversations with God, my wrestling with the Scriptures, and my ponderings about things many people know much more about than I. Because I live in the 2013 version of America, because I am inundated with so many voices filling the air with thoughts on homosexuality, and because I have just come back from a family vacation where I spent time with a male relative of mine who is living as a woman, I am compelled to address the topic of relationships. More specifically the relationship that has been titled homosexuality. Our text will be 1 Samuel 18:1-4 and 20:41-42.

I pray that those who have sexual desires for people of the same sex would know that Jesus has a great plan for their life. I pray that those who have scars and wounds from homosexual sin would find songs of healing and freedom welling up within them. I pray that all of us would see Jesus’ heart more clearly and know how to keep the devil from stealing, killing, and destroying any of the life Jesus has for us.

Leave a Reply

