Sunday Preview

January 30, 2014

The beginning of February is one of my favorite times of the year. I enjoy the big golf tournament in Scottsdale, even when I don’t attend it. I like the Super Bowl, even when the Cardinals are not in it. It feels like a holiday without the pressure of having to buy presents or cook a turkey.

We are starting a new sermon series this weekend called, “The Culture of the Kingdom.” In the weeks to come we will contrast the culture of God’s Kingdom with the culture of America. Not all things in our culture are bad. Every culture has certain qualities that enrich the lives of people. Some cultures stress family unity, and others emphasize hospitality. These are biblical values which bless those who practice them.

My sermon this Sunday is called, “The Heart of a Spiritual Champion” from Philippians 3:1-12. I hope you will look up these verses before Sunday and give some extra thought to verse 10: “I want to know Christ—yes, to know the power of his resurrection…”
I look forward to being with you this Sunday and expect it to be a day of grace and blessing for us all.

Leave a Reply

